JAXA to launch asteroid sample return mission

Copyright (c) Ikeshita Akihiro

JAXA (Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency) has announced that they will be launching their space probe Hayabusa 2 at the end of November this year. The official launch date is November 29th at 13:24:48 Japan standard time (04:24:48 UT / November 29 at 20:24:48 PST). Hayabusa 2 will be launched to the asteroid known as 1999 JU3 where it will take a sample from the asteroid and return the sample back here to earth. The spacecraft plans to reach the asteroid in 2018 and return the sample back to earth in 2020.

For more information about the Hayabusa 2 and how they will accomplish the mission visit:

                       click the logo above
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: